I'm not sure where to start with this blog, but here we go...
All on Facebook lately and even out and about on my own campus, all I tend to see or here are students complaining about how hard college is or how they don't make friends. Well let me get down to the nitty gritty for you...
First off, I want to find whoever told these freshmen (or college students in general) that college is supposed to be easy. GIVE. ME. A. BREAK. In high school you can pass a test by reading the study guide 5 minutes before the test (yeah, study guides... remember those and how fantastic those were?) or by not even reading the study guide and just winging it. You managed to get A's and B's on those test and man, oh, man were those the good 'ol days. But that isn't what college is about. You came to college to EXPAND your mind, not to get by with minimal work and expect to get fantastic grades from less than fantastic effort. College is meant to be a challenge. If college wasn't a challenge then the same people who sweep the streets would be the same people operating on your heart, teach your children, or run your country. College is an expansion of learning, if you aren't being challenged, then something isn't right. Granted, if your grades are nothing but F's there may be something you need to change. If F's are all you see, they probably don't stand for "Fantastic" but then again they don't necessarily stand for "Failure". Colleges offer sooooooo many resources to their students, but it's up to the student to reach out and grab the resources that are available. Tutoring is not for losers or the dumb kids! (Also, whoever put that idea in your mind, go kick them straight in the chin, that isn't true and it never will be) Tutoring is such a wonderful resource for learning! It goes right back to the expansion of your education!
Then again, I will make the brave statement that college isn't for everybody. There are many people throughout our universe that college just isn't for them. They had enough schooling from high school and they are just ready to get out and do something productive in the world. And guess what? That is perfectly FINE! EVERYBODY IS DIFFERENT. Don't let anybody ever tell you that there is only one way to do something in your life, they are wrong. This is YOUR life and if you are living it in a way to keep others happy, then you will never, ever be happy with yourself. Those other people have no right to drag you down and tell you what you can and shouldn't do. They aren't you, they don't know you, they don't live your life, and they won't be living your life 20 years, don't let them live it now. I hate to say it but if you have tried your hardest, branched out, worked your tail off, and you are still severely unhappy in college then maybe it isn't for you. Must I repeat that it is OKAY. If your parents are forcing you to go to college, find some way to tell them that it isn't for you. But I will say, if you choose not to go to college, don't sit at home on the couch all day just bumming of your parents. That's not cool nor is it okay. If you choose not to go to college, find something productive to do with your life. Join the military, find a job, take up avidly volunteering, just find some way to sustain your personal life and activities. Just don't become a leech to society.
Also, don't complain that you aren't good at anything and that you can't be productive. Lemme tell you a little something that may blow your mind: You can find a job, even if you don't have a car. You know all that time you spend on your phone/internet/Facebook/etc..? Yeah well then get a job that involves you being on the phone, computer, etc.. It's a real thing. Don't be a lazy bum, nobody likes a lazy bum and then you really will be disliked by society. Don't give excuses. As people we should focus more on making efforts rather than excuses. Excuses are for the cowards of the world. Take a deep breath and step into the unknown. You never know what you aren't good at until you've done it about 100 times. Don't do something once and say "Oh, well I failed once so I must really suck...", go do it 99 more times and then if you fail every single time from then on, maybe you should find something else to be productive in (but remember, don't resort to being a lazy bum...).
Part Two of the Rant:
Alrighty, gather around for story time children. QUIT YOUR WHINING/CRYING/COMPLAINING/MOANING/GROANING! Good gracious! I understand that the transition to college is ROUGH! Especially if you go into this experience without friends, away from home, or you just have a rough transition in general. I honestly get it and I honestly care. But you want to know what I don't care about? Those who cry all day long with their "Woe is me" when people have repeatedly branched out to you and have attempted to help. You need to realize that those people are TRYING to care for you, but when you continually cry to yourself or cause a scene with your complaints, they can't help you because they can't get past your drama. Go talk to somebody if you think you seriously need help because there are people who truly care for you on campus, whether you believe it or not. The counselors on campus truly do want to listen and they have your best interest in mind. They can give you so many resources and tips on how to handle this transition so that it goes better. I have witnessed so many students that I have attempted to help through the rough stages of this transition or other students have tried to help them, but yet even though those attempts have been made the forlorn student still continues to put on a display of despair. Depression is a real thing and it can DEFINITELY happen upon arriving to college, but you need to seek help and let others help you. There is absolutely no shame at recognizing that there is something different about your personality and honestly, it takes a lot of courage and strength to listen and seek help of those around you. Don't be ashamed if you think something is off or if others tell you something is off, they're just trying to help. Don't push away those around you that are trying to help, they really care and I can't stress that enough.
Please keep in mind that if college is stressing you out, take some time off. Some people with argue with this point, but if it making you depressed, stressing you out too much, or becoming too much to handle, then just go home for a semester or so and take a breather. There is no problem in that. Sometimes we all just need to take a step back and regain the balance of our emotions, thoughts, and life.
I may have sounded like a horrid person in writing this, but I really want people to know that it's okay to not be ready for college or to even not want to be at college. This is your life, live how you want and if things get bumpy, look at the world around you and recognize those willing to help and accept it. THEY CARE. WE CARE. YOUR COLLEGE CARES. Please don't be ashamed of anything. College is a scary and eye-opening experience for everyone, you aren't alone. Just take a deep breath and step into the unknown. You never know what wonderful experiences you'll find.
Just a description and the thoughts of the events that happen on my journey through life. I may not write everyday, but when I do it's something that's crossed my mind as something important to tell everybody.
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
Blog Archive
About Me
- OrdinaryGirl
- I'm just me. I'm nobody else nor do I desire to be somebody else. I believe in being myself no matter what the "Norm" is.
No comments:
Post a Comment