Tuesday, October 29, 2013

DownToThePoint.

I'm not sure where to start with this blog, but here we go...

   All on Facebook lately and even out and about on my own campus, all I tend to see or here are students complaining about how hard college is or how they don't make friends. Well let me get down to the nitty gritty for you...

   First off, I want to find whoever told these freshmen (or college students in general) that college is supposed to be easy. GIVE. ME. A. BREAK. In high school you can pass a test by reading the study guide 5 minutes before the test (yeah, study guides... remember those and how fantastic those were?) or by not even reading the study guide and just winging it. You managed to get A's and B's on those test and man, oh, man were those the good 'ol days. But that isn't what college is about. You came to college to EXPAND your mind, not to get by with minimal work and expect to get fantastic grades from less than fantastic effort. College is meant to be a challenge. If college wasn't a challenge then the same people who sweep the streets would be the same people operating on your heart, teach your children, or run your country. College is an expansion of learning, if you aren't being challenged, then something isn't right. Granted, if your grades are nothing but F's there may be something you need to change. If F's are all you see, they probably don't stand for "Fantastic" but then again they don't necessarily stand for "Failure". Colleges offer sooooooo many resources to their students, but it's up to the student to reach out and grab the resources that are available. Tutoring is not for losers or the dumb kids! (Also, whoever put that idea in your mind, go kick them straight in the chin, that isn't true and it never will be) Tutoring is such a wonderful resource for learning! It goes right back to the expansion of your education!

     Then again, I will make the brave statement that college isn't for everybody. There are many people throughout our universe that college just isn't for them. They had enough schooling from high school and they are just ready to get out and do something productive in the world. And guess what? That is perfectly FINE! EVERYBODY IS DIFFERENT. Don't let anybody ever tell you that there is only one way to do something in your life, they are wrong. This is YOUR life and if you are living it in a way to keep others happy, then you will never, ever be happy with yourself. Those other people have no right to drag you down and tell you what you can and shouldn't do. They aren't you, they don't know you, they don't live your life, and they won't be living your life 20 years, don't let them live it now. I hate to say it but if you have tried your hardest, branched out, worked your tail off, and you are still severely unhappy in college then maybe it isn't for you. Must I repeat that it is OKAY. If your parents are forcing you to go to college, find some way to tell them that it isn't for you. But I will say, if you choose not to go to college, don't sit at home on the couch all day just bumming of your parents. That's not cool nor is it okay. If you choose not to go to college, find something productive to do with your life. Join the military, find a job, take up avidly volunteering, just find some way to sustain your personal life and activities. Just don't become a leech to society. 

     Also, don't complain that you aren't good at anything and that you can't be productive. Lemme tell you a little something that may blow your mind: You can find a job, even if you don't have a car. You know all that time you spend on your phone/internet/Facebook/etc..? Yeah well then get a job that involves you being on the phone, computer, etc.. It's a real thing. Don't be a lazy bum, nobody likes a lazy bum and then you really will be disliked by society. Don't give excuses. As people we should focus more on making efforts rather than excuses. Excuses are for the cowards of the world. Take a deep breath and step into the unknown. You never know what you aren't good at until you've done it about 100 times. Don't do something once and say "Oh, well I failed once so I must really suck...", go do it 99 more times and then if you fail every single time from then on, maybe you should find something else to be productive in (but remember, don't resort to being a lazy bum...).  

    Part Two of the Rant:
      Alrighty, gather around for story time children. QUIT YOUR WHINING/CRYING/COMPLAINING/MOANING/GROANING! Good gracious! I understand that the transition to college is ROUGH! Especially if you go into this experience without friends, away from home, or you just have a rough transition in general. I honestly get it and I honestly care. But you want to know what I don't care about? Those who cry all day long with their "Woe is me" when people have repeatedly branched out to you and have attempted to help. You need to realize that those people are TRYING to care for you, but when you continually cry to yourself or cause a scene with your complaints, they can't help you because they can't get past your drama. Go talk to somebody if you think you seriously need help because there are people who truly care for you on campus, whether you believe it or not. The counselors on campus truly do want to listen and they have your best interest in mind. They can give you so many resources and tips on how to handle this transition so that it goes better. I have witnessed so many students that I have attempted to help through the rough stages of this transition or other students have tried to help them, but yet even though those attempts have been made the forlorn student still continues to put on a display of despair. Depression is a real thing and it can DEFINITELY happen upon arriving to college, but you need to seek help and let others help you. There is absolutely no shame at recognizing that there is something different about your personality and honestly, it takes a lot of courage and strength to listen and seek help of those around you. Don't be ashamed if you think something is off or if others tell you something is off, they're just trying to help. Don't push away those around you that are trying to help, they really care and I can't stress that enough. 

     Please keep in mind that if college is stressing you out, take some time off. Some people with argue with this point, but if it making you depressed, stressing you out too much, or becoming too much to handle, then just go home for a semester or so and take a breather. There is no problem in that. Sometimes we all just need to take a step back and regain the balance of our emotions, thoughts, and life. 

     I may have sounded like a horrid person in writing this, but I really want people to know that it's okay to not be ready for college or to even not want to be at college. This is your life, live how you want and if things get bumpy, look at the world around you and recognize those willing to help and accept it. THEY CARE. WE CARE. YOUR COLLEGE CARES. Please don't be ashamed of anything. College is a scary and eye-opening experience for everyone, you aren't alone. Just take a deep breath and step into the unknown. You never know what wonderful experiences you'll find. 

 

Monday, May 6, 2013

WhatIsBeautiful?

    I write this using my own personal experience. I write this using my own fears, faults, and trials. I have always wondered what it would be like to be beautiful. What it would be like to be a supermodel. I have always wanted to be that tall, skinny, and gorgeous girl that everyone admired for her looks. But I've thought some more about this and I think my perception has changed. 

     You always have those people that compliment you on your beauty and all you can do is say, "No... ". Never really thought about it until now. I always thought that I wasn't pretty. I was never skinny and I'm still not. My hair never cooperates. My thighs have cellulite. I cry during bathing suit season. And sometimes shopping for clothes, though it's my favorite hobby, makes me terribly depressed because of the number size I have to chose. But lets think about this. Where are we getting our definition of beauty? Do we get it from the media, if so they have the most flawed definition. Do we get it from our peers? If we get negative feedback from them, maybe they aren't the best people to be around for our own health. Where do we get this definition of beauty? Why is it that when someone says someone is "beautiful" that we automatically think of a brilliant white smile, flawless skin, a small waist, perfect hair, and just an overall stunning appearance. Why is it that we focus so much on materialistic looks, that we forget the other beautiful traits we all have. We are constantly letting media feed us negative images of ourselves and giving us these gorgeous models to look at. Well, lets face it! If everybody looked like models, there wouldn't be a career in that field! And you know what, good for them if they're a size 2 and don't have to wash their face before bed to avoid getting zits. BUT THAT ISN'T EVERYBODY. 

     We need to stop putting this standard of beauty in our mind! We all need to focus on the positives of ourselves that make us beautiful! Seriously, write a list of all the positive things people have said about you or that you think are beautiful of yourself. I'll start.

  • I have golden brown eyes, that I truly like.
  • I have this red, natural tint in my hair that only shows when the sun is on it.
  • I have freckles on my face and I think they're cute
  • I am tall
  • I sing well
  • I make a good first impression
  • I've been complimented on how kind I am to everyone, even if I don't know them
  • I have an outgoing and loud personality
  • I have straight white teeth and I've never had to wear braces
  • I think my eyes are perfectly shaped for the application of all makeup
  • My hands and feet are proportionate to my body

Now to some, this list may seem conceited but for me it was hard to write. I have never tried to think about what is beautiful in my life, I typically only focused on the negative and that's where people go wrong. That's when we lose any sliver of self confidence that we may have ever had. So think about it, where are you getting your definition of beauty. 

 http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=litXW91UauE


http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iYhCn0jf46U


I'mEngaged!

     I am engaged! As of March 19th, 2013 at like 1:15, I AM ENGAGED! I don't think I can describe how glorious this feels. But what I can do is describe to you how it happened so that you can gauge your emotions off of the days events.

    For months and days Taylor had been bugging me about getting some good pictures of us. He kept asking if I would feel comfortable with his friends doing it, my friends doing it, or our mothers doing it, but I just blew him off and saying "no...", "no....", "not today...", "maybe later...". I just thought it would be awkward, ya know? To have one our friends take pictures of us just because? Not my thing. I mean, don't get me wrong, I love a good picture, but I only like it if there is like a special occasion or something. So we never took any pictures... Well, Spring Break rolled around for us two and we were supposed to work a camp at Diamond H, but life kind of hit the both of us and we couldn't dedicate our time to that. I ended up visiting him and we talked about what we were going to do to keep up occupied. He came up with the brilliant idea of taking pictures at the Myriad Gardens in OKC (Of course he wanted to take pictures). I finally just agreed to go take pictures and we could just use my camera and my tripod and that way there wasn't an awkward third wheel around. Well, Tuesday (the day of pictures) rolled around and we both got ready. I decided to wear a nice-ish dress (which I never do) and he wore a polo and jeans (this boy hardly wears polos). As we were leaving his house for the city, I realized I hadn't painted my nails and thought hard about making him turn around and go back to his house, just so I could grab some nail polish... But I decided against it and figured nobody would be looking that hard anyways. Before we got to the city we went to Arcadia and stopped at the Round Barn and Pops, seeing as how he had never been. We were already having a really good time! Once we got to Bricktown, we decided to park at Bass Pro (because it was free) and just walk to the Myriad Gardens. MAN! It was WINDY! (Go figure that in the state of Oklahoma it would be windy.) But I stuck it out, while holding my dress down with one hand and holding his hand in my other. We finally arrived at the Myriad Gardens and went inside (it is really nice since it has been remodeled!). We walked around and I took a gajillion pictures of flowers and such and then we finished. Taylor had the idea of going to the lower level outside to take pictures, so out we went. For some reason my mood kept getting weirder and weirder. I was on the verge of grumpy and Taylor sensed it and kept asking what was wrong. Well, I don't know why that set me off but every time he asked I got weirder and weirder. Anyways, we began to take our pictures. We got to a place where I had my tripod set up facing the Devon Tower and the back half of the Gardens. The camera was set up for self timing and so we stood there and let it take our pictures. Then, Taylor wanted to use his Go-Pro to take a few. While he was setting up his camera my back was to him and I was admiring the Devon Tower (first time for me to see it so closely), he walked over and we posed... The camera wasn't blinking nor did it take our picture. So, Taylor walked back over to fix it and I went back to glancing at the tower. As he was walking back, I turned back to face the camera and once he reached me, he dropped to one knee with a little box opened in his hand. I. WAS. SHOCKED. I vaguely remember hearing the words "Alexandria Lei Neighbors....Marry Me". I think that there might have been other words in his sentence, but I only remember everything in my head was so loud, or did everything get quiet? I stood there with my hands flexed out at my side just staring at the beautiful ring in the box, asking myself "Is this real? Is this seriously happening?" and after standing there silent, for what felt like a good 10 minutes (don't worry it wasn't that long), I told myself "Hey... you might want to answer him". I could barely squeak out a yes and nod my head! I was speechless! ME! The queen of Gab was speechless! He slid that gorgeous ring on my finger and wrapped his arms around me! I couldn't knock that stupid grin off of my face! He had proposed and I had said YES! :) I literally was speechless for a good hour with the occasional squeak of a word that came out of my mouth. I think what made the whole event even better was the fact that he was walking around like the proudest man in the world! I had never seen him so carefree and genuinely happy! He couldn't stop smiling and neither could I! 

    Later, when we finally made it back to his pick-up we had phone calls to make (to family, we couldn't post it on Facebook until we had contacted them, duh that would just be rude). When we called his parents they were so happy. Of course they knew about it, but nonetheless they sounded so happy for us. His dad told me the sweetest thing anybody could ever say, which was "Welcome, Welcome, Welcome to the family. We are so very honored to have you join it." My heart was melting. 

     After finishing up all the phone calls and texts (we left out my mom), we headed over to my moms work to "bring her a drink". We waited around in her office until she showed up and when I handed her the drink, I expected her to see the ring! But, she didn't. :| So  when I was hugging her, I tried to press it into her hand so she'd feel it, but she didn't. Finally, While hugging her I gently patted her face with the back side of my hand and she felt it! She looked at it and started crying! (And for your information, no I didn't cry when he asked I just smiled like a stupid idiot) My mom was so thrilled and so was/am I!

     I think what takes me by surprise now is the fact that Taylor had been planning this for awhile! EVERYBODY knew! My own roommates knew and some how managed not to spill the beans AND make it seem like I was never getting engaged! I honestly thought that I wasn't going to be engaged until my senior year of college, but here I am sitting here with a beautiful engagement ring on my left ring finger and a silly smile on my face. 

     The more I think about being engaged, the more I smile. I couldn't ask for a better man than Taylor, and quite honestly I don't think that there is one. I am so overwhelmingly happy and thrilled. It feels odd to be engaged, but it's also so very comforting knowing that I am one step closer to being with my best friend for the rest of my life. ♥



Thursday, November 29, 2012

InMyMother'sArms.

     Many people can carry on about how their mom is the best mom in the world, invincible, stronger, more beautiful, more courageous, or smarter. But I'm just writing this to tell you of why I love my mother and what makes her one of my heroes. 

    When you're a little girl, you are constantly searching for an idea of beauty to live up to. Let me tell you something, my mother is beautiful. I constantly looked at her and thought to myself, "Man, I just hope that one day I am as beautiful as my mother". Her hair always perfect in it's own way. She taught me how to do my makeup and appreciate the art of makeup design. She taught me that we should always treat our bodies with respect, because if we don't do that then we lose respect from our bodies and it will bite us in the butt. 
     Her eyes have always amazed me. Golden brown with a few flakes of dark brown. Always filled with kindness. She smiles with her eyes. You can see the kindness radiating from her heart and out through her eyes. So many stories, cautions, lessons, ideas, warnings, feelings of love can be seen in my mother's eyes. 

     She'll always rag on her smile. Always saying her teeth aren't as straight, white or perfect as she would want them to be, but her smile, oh man... My mother's smile is one of my greatest memories. She was always smiling. Whenever I am scared or nervous, she is always there to smile at me and tell me that everything is going to be okay. Her smile is a reminder that God has a plan for everything that happens, so we simply need to nod our heads, take his hand, and let him guide us through this journey of life. 

    The next thing I adore about my mother is her laugh... It's loud and you can identify it from miles away, but it is one of the most glorious things I have ever heard. Simple, Carefree, Happy. That is my mother's laugh.

      Oh how her singing voice gives me chills... I remember being little and sitting through the service and then my mom got to sing a solo. It was beautiful. Her voice flows through the air and seems to soothe any of my fears or worries... She may think that she can no longer sing (due to a doctor's mistake) but I will always think of her voice as a voice that was given to her by God for a reason. Beautiful, Smooth, Inspiring. 

      Another marvelous thing about this woman is her kindness. I have never seen such a kind human being. She is currently a nurse and I don't think she could have picked a better profession. Whenever I go to visit her at work it seems that everyone of her patients tell me that she is the nicest nurse they've ever had... I would agree with them. She has kindness towards you no matter how many knives you've stabbed in her heart and that amazes me. It's like there is a never ending supply of kindness that just lives in her heart 24/7. I hope that one day I can be as kind and gentle as her. I strive to make such a difference in peoples lives with my kindness, just like she has. 

     So far with the way I have written this, it seems as if my mother has had the easiest life and she was just blessed in every way. Wrong. My mother has endured trial after trial and sometimes I wonder if it will ever stop. Family. Work. Life. It just seems as if life throws things at her left and right and she never gets a break. But do you want to know something? My mother is strong. I amazed by her strength every day of my life. When life throws something at her, she takes things in stride and comes out with a still positive attitude. How does she do it? I would've fallen down countless times if I would have had to endure those trials, but she keeps on truckin'. I am simply amazed. She has given me her strength in some ways. I am beginning to realize that I am like my mother when it comes to enduring things and moving on. I mean, everything happens for a reason, right?

     There are so many things rushing through my head right now about my mother, but I don't know how to write it down. Strength. Courage. Kindness. Love. Hugs. Kisses. Security. Blessed. Amazing. Never Broken. Endurance. Perfect.

     I hear people complain about becoming like their mother, but I couldn't ask for anything better. I strive to be as faithful as my mother. As strong as her, as smart as her, as brave as her, as beautiful as her (inside and out). I'm crying as I write this because I can't imagine anybody else that I would want for a mother. She is such a wonderful role model and I thin God did right when he chose her to be my mother. 

      My mother is strong, beautiful, and capable of handling anything you throw her way. She has taught me to be independent and to fight for what I want. So after all this typing I will say that yes, my mom is the best in the world. I can't wait to go home this weekend and give her a hug, because after all, her arms are one of my favorite places to be. I love my Momma Bear. 
     

Monday, November 19, 2012

Thankful Hearts.♥

Okay, well it seems if everybody is doing the "days of thanks" on Facebook but seeing as how I am late to adding to that, I am just going to type it on here. Here I go...

Thankfulness. Be Thankful. Thankful Hearts. Be appreciative of what you have and who you have. 

I am thankful for sooooooo many things in my life. The first I will start off with is my God and my faith. Some may scoff at this silly idea of religion, but it is what holds my life together. What am I to believe in and trust in if I cannot have my religion? God has given me everything I am thankful for. He has given up his one and only son in order to free this world of sin and pain, and yet here we are polluting it once again.

I am thankful for my family. Lord love them all. My family is crazy, loud, annoying, redneck, city folk, funny, rambunctious, but most of all they are loving. I couldn't go in my life without any of them. I would love to list a reason for why I love all of them, but I know I would accidentally leave one out and they may get their feelings hurt. I'm not being rude, it's just a fact of life but I still love them.

I am thankful for my friends. I cannot even begin to explain how much my friends do for me. They are always there to cheer me up, help me out, be there for me, be stupid with me, calm me down, call me out, and just be my friends. We have laughed, cried, slapped each other, caused each other to not be able to breathe from lack of oxygen due to excessive laughter, and we have even thrown each other off of cars. These friends are true and I couldn't live a single day without any of them. This paragraph could go on and on and on and on... My roommates, my suite mates, my friends that I have made in College, my friends that I have made in high school, my friends from scouting, my friends that I have made from random encounters. I could never, ever, in a million years ask for a group of friends better than the ones I currently have. 

I am thankful for my boyfriend, Taylor. He is so caring and loving, I don't know how I became so lucky. I always know that I can come to him with anything and he will always be there. I know I will always have the freedom to be independent but still have his love. I know that God has given him to me for a reason, and I would never change that. He gives me the strength and courage to do new things and to reach for my goals. He is my support system when I feel as if nothing but bad things could happen. He is there to tell me when my emotions have overcome my logic. He is there to help me remain the strong and goal driven woman that I am. He loves me unconditionally, he loves me with all his heart, and I do the same for him. I am thankful for his love.

I am thankful for my education. You can look at the countries around us, Heck! you can look at our own nation and see that not everyone is lucky enough to gain an education. I have gained an elementary education, junior high education, high school education, and NOW I am earning my college education , and I have the hopes of attaining my master's  degree! EDUCATION is something to be thankful for no matter your situation. Without an education, you get nowhere in life.

I am thankful for the mistakes I have made and for the mistakes others have made. Without these mistakes, I would make more than I already do. I do my best to learn from my past mistakes and the mistakes of others.

I am thankful for the military and their families. Without them and their service, I would not have the opportunity to be typing this. 

I am thankful for Boy Scouts of America. Oh my goodness, I cannot explain how much this organization has changed my life. It entered my life when I seemed to have needed it the most. It has made me into a better person, and it has taught me that there is hope for the future yet. 

I am thankful for my jobs. I work with children. I foster their knowledge and imagination. I am responsible for what goes on in their life, mind, and heart. What more of a blessing could one ask for?

I am thankful for the opportunities I have been given in life. I've had so many chances to grasp onto and to help me become a better person. 

I am thankful for many things in life. Music, freedom of speech and expression, nature, love, the way I was raised, the support given to me, and in general my life. I am thankful.

Monday, February 20, 2012

Won'tDieInFame.

Okay, this blog post is basically going to be me ranting so feel free to read or ignore. It won't hurt my feelings either way.


Whitney Houston just died. She was a wonderful vocal artist and made many wonderful songs during her life. But I want to focus on is the fact that people are  only raving about her right now because she died. Most of these "fans" weren't true followers or fans until the day she died. Why on Earth should be held to such a high position and given such much praise after doing so much COCAINE! Soldiers die everyday, children die everyday, other people die everyday from circumstances in which they had no responsibility or control over. They didn't do crack, they lived lives in which they were content with and yet we don't praise them. Many great minds and thinkers have died and yet the praise that Whitney has received is much greater than anyone of them will ever receive. Same goes for Michael Jackson and Amy Winehouse. I realize these were great artists and they had many wonderful contributions that they gave to the music industry, but why do we let our children see that even if you do crack, you will be famous if you die. Not that if you die fighting for our country and saving all the crack heads from a life of dictatorship, will you receive recognition in great magnitude. It blows my mind. What kind of message are we sending to the future of our world and society? Who do we want our children to look to as role models? Why are the celebrities using so many drugs, consuming so much alcohol, committing so many crimes, abusing so many people? When did this become acceptable? Why are we letting this be the standard we set for our children?? You can hound me and rag on me for disrespecting great legends of my time, but I don't want to have these "legends" be the people who define me. 


If I don't die with fame because I refused to do drugs, drink, abuse my spouse or children, cheat on my spouse, or commit a crime, then SO BE IT. These will not be the people who I remember as I grow older and they will not be the people I look up to. The people I look up to will be the soldiers that die for my freedom when they could have stayed at home and ate bonbons all day. I will look up to the great minds and thinkers who have contributed to society in ways that will help us move forward in the future. I will not let the stress and pressures of society lead me down a road that is dark, bleak, and full of temptation. I plan to die a teacher. A wife. A mother. A person who cares for everybody no matter what and a person that somebody somewhere can look up to. No matter if it is my own child, my students, a stranger, anybody. I want to be a positive influence on somebody's life. I don't want them to think that in order to make an impact on the world that one must do drugs or commit crimes. Because that shouldn't have to be our society's standard of a role model. So I want you to think to yourself. Who will you be?


I said it before and I will say it again, Whitney Houston was a marvelous vocal performer and her talents are something I would let my children aspire to have, but I don't want my children (or anybody at that) to think that drugs are the only way to get somewhere good or to have good talents. There are so many people in this world that do not do drugs and that stay on a path in which is honorable, I want my children to look up to them. I'm not saying that these people don't make mistakes, or that I do not make mistakes. But it is not the mistakes that matter, it is how you fix them and how you cope with them. Do you listen to the ones around you who are trying to help or do you continue on your same path thinking you know what's best. Just take some time to think. Who will you be a role model to? Will you be a positive or negative influence in somebody's life?

Tuesday, February 7, 2012

WillSomebodyListenToThem.

The town of Edmond has been struck hard by suicides these past couple of months. 4 suicides? How is this even possible? That has gotten me to think over how kids are treated in our society and do parents even listen to these children anymore?


When I was in middle school, yeah it sucked. You're at the stage in life when everything is changing. Your body, your friends, maybe even your school. I was one of those kids who moved my middle school years to a new town. That was rough, I had to start the worst two years of my life at a school where I didn't know a single person. I felt like an outcast on the very first day. It was hard, but eventually I met new friends... But they weren't the best, but I think it was because of the stage we were in. I think almost everybody goes through a stage in life where there experiment with cussing, if not well then I guess I'm the only one! But anyways,  I had some new friends and oh how I loved them! We were joined at the hip, never left each others side. But during the first year of my life in that middle school I was already kind of an angry child. My parents had just divorced and I despised my step-dad (I'm not going to touch on that). I was angry at the world, but I also think hormones that accompanied my changing body had something to do with it. I cussed around my friends and I cussed when I wasn't around my parents. I wasn't the kind of person I wanted to be around and now, I definitely know that wasn't a good time in my life. 


You read that last sentence and ask "How can she know it wasn't a good time in her life when she was only like 12 or 13, she can't have a bad time yet she's too young!" Well let me tell you something if you don't remember it for yourself: Your body changes so you feel so different, you make up for that in maybe a not so great attitude, and then the ones around you that were actually your friends start to turn on you because you aren't being nice, and that makes your self-confidence go even lower because your'e already changing so losing your friends doesn't help with that and you feel like something is even more wrong with you. You hate on your body image, you hate on yourself. You see these other girls changing. They start wearing makeup, dying their hair, tanning, wearing clothes from Hollister and Abercrombie & Fitch, they grow boobs, and start dating. And you may be the one "loser" that doesn't have or do any of that. You tell your parents that you wish you were like them and they always tell you the same line " In time honey" or "You don't need to look like them, you are your own self" and yes while those words are so true, when you're 12 and 13 you don't care about being yourself, you only want to fit in. If you fit in you won't be considered prey. You won't be hunted down by the "populars" or you won't be mocked by the "weird kids". But I am also going to tell you that the first thing wrong here are the labels. Nobody should be labeled popular, weird, outcast, jock, nerd, sluts, etc. This shouldn't even be an option, but it is. It's all around us. When you're that age and you see a kid that answers the questions every time you label them the nerd, when that one girl with the big boobs and the reputation of boyfriends gives a secret note to a basketball player you label her a slut. This needs to end before we can put an end to anything else.


Another thing though is that these kids that feel this pressure cannot simply put away the pain and labeling unless someone is there for them. These kids go to a school with several hundred to thousands of kids. Sure, it's a hard task to try and pin point every kid with a problem because some of them do not show it in a outwardly way (and face it when they do, most people write them off as the kids who just want attention). But somebody has to see something! Whether that person is a teacher, friend, family member, lady at Wal-Mart, somebody somewhere has to be noticing or seeing something! The ones suffering this internal depression may not tell you with their voice, but look at them, watch them, LISTEN to their hearts. You know your friends/daughters/sons/nieces/nephews/students/grandchildren so when they begin to change just watch them. You don't have to hound them every chance you get by asking them if they're okay or if they want to talk, but just let them know that you'll always be there for them. Don't ignore them. Try not to yell when things go wrong (things in life will go wrong). As long as they know that people actually care about them not matter how awkward or ugly they feel inside and out, I believe that little bit could do a whole lot. 


If I had the power I would change our media of today. These kids (and even adults) see suicide as an easy fix. But suicide is merely a permanent solution to a temporary problem. The T.V. shows we see have so much pressure on us to be these beautiful, plastic, model worthy creatures and we are not nor will we never be. Why has the world come to such extremes. These kids are learning things that they shouldn't even have to see. Girls think that to be pretty they have to be a size 0, wear the whole makeup counter on their face, dye their hair until it fries off their head, and dress in all name brands. What ever happened to  the nature of having a nice personality and kind heart making you beautiful? We as girls (as humans really) are so judgmental and I'm not saying I'm innocent of it. I'm bad at judging people and I will fess up to it. It's a horrible trait to have, but maybe we do it because we feel the pressure to be so much better than that other person that we have to put them down until we feel better?


When you're in the store, at school, on the street, etc... be nice to everybody because you never know what their story is. I remembered reading a story one time about a boy who was nice to another kid and unknowingly stopped this kid from committing suicide by just being nice. That boy finally realized that the world is not full of mean people and cruel things all of the time and that somebody will actually listen. I don't care if you're the Queen of Sheba or Elvis himself, BE NICE. You never know the impact you will have on somebody's life with a simple smile and a small conversation. You never know how bad that person's day has been. I will always stand by the saying: Never judge a person before you have walked a mile in their shoes. Their shoes may be rugged and holey, but those shoes may be shoes that go to school from 8am to 3pm and then walk to Wal-Mart to work from 3:30pm to 5am just to support their family. You never know if those lip-glossed lips and heavily makeuped eyes may be hiding the bruises from an abusive parent. The girl who presents herself as a "slut" may be getting sexually abused at home or elsewhere and she feels like she must present herself in that manner because that's the only way she can be loved. The "nerd" who is always answering questions and always studying could be hiding himself in work so that he can ignore that fact that his mother is a heroine addict and his father is cheating on his mother. The "jock" who you've seen push the weaker ones so many times may be that way because he's trying to exert his own personal fear on others because his father makes him kneel on rice for hours if he isn't the best at everything. You never know what people are going through so don't be mean. Be nice to everyone you encounter and if you ever feel that there is something wrong with somebody or you get that gut feeling or you find something that looks like something may be headed in the wrong direction, get help from somebody that can help that person. And if you yourself ever feel that suicide is the right decision, I want you to think about how many people you will have an impact on and if a permanent fix is really the answer to your temporary solution. 


If you think nobody is here for you or you worry that you will be shipped off to a crazy house if you speak to them, think again. If you need somebody to talk to but don't know who to trust, find a friend, a teacher, a family member, or for Heaven's sake talk to me! I would hate to see you lose your precious life because you thought nobody was there for you. You are smart, kind and important and there is no reason for you to live as if nobody cares. Talk to somebody and let them help you. You are more important than you think.


And if you ever have somebody come to you, that is putting their trust in you, LISTEN TO THEM! Be there for them and help them. They trust you! And telling you was a big enough step for them, you have to help them. Please don't blow it off, a life is too important to blow off, let them know you care.


I just want to know, Will somebody please listen to them?

About Me

My photo
I'm just me. I'm nobody else nor do I desire to be somebody else. I believe in being myself no matter what the "Norm" is.